2011 in Review – Videogames

Although 2011 had a ton of great games being launched, I only played half a dozen or so, and only finished Dragon Age 2.

I poked around a bit in Magicka, doing missions in co-op with João. Despite the high fun factor the game has, especially in multiplayer mode where blowing up one another accidentally was frequent, we didn’t progress much yet.

MMO-wise, I tried DC Universe Online when it became free to play. Made a character who’s mentor was Batman and I flew around Gotham (which looks great) fighting crime in a colour coordinated outfit (how odd). I’ll have to explore more of of the game, and also visit Metropolis when I get the chance.

I also played Rift with kitten. It’s very polished but I guess the problem was that aside from the Rift system, it didn’t really bring anything new to the fantasy MMO scene.

Then there’s Star Wars: The Old Republic, that will probably be the last game I’ll play this year, and I’ve already written about it. I’ll play it for a while, but I simply don’t have the time to have the same amount of play hours I had when I still played WoW regularly. Most of my guild doesn’t have that time either, so we’re playing SWTOR in a casual way but with some organized instancing sessions, which is fine by me. I’ve been playing alongside João; the Smuggler and Tropper combo works pretty well in combat and I get to have a glimpse at some of the Smuggler plot when I join João’s quest conversations. Some of our real-life friends are in the same guild, so I expect sometime after the X-Mas running around to prepare stuff, we’ll run some instances together.

Videogames I wish I’d played? Too many of them. Shogun 2: Total War, Arkham City and Skyrim. Everyone tells me wonders about Skyrim and how I’d love it. But from all I’ve read, it’s very lengthy and I don’t have that many hours to put into it.

Next year, among other games, will bring Mass Effect 3 in March, Diablo 3 and World of Warcraft: Mists of Pandaria supposedly sometime during 2012 (but you know Blizzard…), and Torchlight 2 also sometime during 2012. I’m spending a lot less of my free time on the computer, but those are four titles I intend to play next year.

Leave a Reply

