Boardgames Ahoy!

I’ve tried several new boardgames since the beginning of the year. The first was Arkham Horror, which I enjoyed even though it requires a ton of hours to play from start to end, which limits the days where we can play it while enjoying the game fully.

We also tried out A Game of Thrones, and Settlers of Catan, which we had for over six months, but were still unopened, and played with a couple of friends in a fun evening. Before that, I tried Finca and Zooloretto, which were fun and had a different game mechanic from what I’ve experienced.

That particular evening I enjoyed the other two games the most though. Endeavor, a strategic game where your objective is to conquer most of the world, starting with Europe, and then to colonize the rest of the world. After that, a completely different game (a party game), called Time’s Up – Blue Edition. We had teams of three, and our team actually managed to put up a narrow fight (we did something like 3 points less) with the winners who already knew the game.

I enjoyed A Game of Thrones, but I’m a bit biased since I’m a big fan of A Song of Ice And Fire, the universe where the game is based on. I’m actually planning on customizing the game, replacing some of the wooden pieces with painted miniatures. But that will take a while to do, since I gave kitten Horus Heresy last week, and it brings a crap load of nanoscopic figures, which I’ll paint (at least some of them) before heading out to that A Game of Thrones project. I’m still looking for a variety of miniatures to be available. Between those reasons and the lack of daylight when I get home, it’ll have to wait a while.

This project makes me not really want to get Battles of Westeros, because to be honest, with it being limited to two players only, the main reason for me to get it would be the miniatures. This way, that problem is fixed, and instead I should eventually invest in the two expansions for A Game of Thrones. I’m not in any hurry at the moment.

We started playing Horus Heresy this week, doing a couple turns each evening at home. I’m not a huge fan of the Warhammer 40k universe (religious fanatics versus religious fanatics doesn’t seem like my cup o’ tea), but I like the miniatures, so I’m hoping the play experience will continue to be relatively interesting.

On the top of my ‘want to try these out’ list are Twilight Imperium, Agricola (it’s what all the cool kids are doing), and Civilization (we’ve been invited to play this at a friend’s house in the near future). Well, mostly I just want to try out new games.

I might make some more detailed posts about boardgames I’ve tried in the future. I’ve just been with a free-time-at-home shortage lately. 😉

So far that’s all in my ongoing boardgame experiences. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

