2010 In Retrospect: Geekness in General

There are always some geek aspects present in my life, like videogames, fantasy and sci-fi novels and movies. But this year was particularly good regarding geek events and our ability to be there, sometimes just due to luck.

The first event of 2010 that made my inner geek squee was probably Star Wars: In Concert, back in March. It was without a doubt the best concert I’ve been to. The soundtracks for the Star Wars movies are among the ones I like the most, which is not surprizing, if we consider that John Williams is a genious. Anyway, other than the music, the concert was hosted by Anthony Daniels, best known for his part as C-3PO. Seeing him life, and less than 10-20 meters away was the first ‘wow’ moment of the year. I mean, he’d been *in* the Star Wars movies!

Further along in the year, we went to London, and discovered by chance, while reading one of those free newspapers they give out in the Underground, that there was going to be a convention – the London Film & Comic Con – the day before our return to Portugal. Lots of actors were there, including a ton of Star Wars actors who were there due to the 30th Empire Strikes Back anniversary celebration, so we got to see David ‘Darth Vader’ Prowse, Kenny ‘R2-D2’ Baker, Jeremy ‘Boba Fett’ Bulloch, and Daniel ‘young Boba Fett’ Logan, and some others, which was also one of those I’ll-never-forget-this moments.

Also in the convention was Katee Sackhoff, who played Starbuck in Battlestar Galactica – and of course I had to get an autograph. In this Con, we saw a ton of people doing really great cosplay, lots and lots was of Star Wars characters – so we got a few photos with Imperials, the Fetts, R2-D2, Vader, some Jedi, and so forth. Lots of Doctor Who and Amy Pond cosplayers, and there was even a Dalek asking for money for a charity, which was quite amusing.

A few months after this, we went to this year’s Fórum Fantástico, here in Portugal, with several authors, some of which we are fans of (others we didn’t know before), as guests – Peter V. Brett Ricardo Pinto, Stephen Hunt, David Soares, and so forth. Some people get really excited when they see their favourite band or singer – I get what I imagine is the same feeling when seeing my favourite authors. So, Fórum Fantástico was great, and we got our books autographed, and watched some really good lectures – if only our university classes had been as interesting as those…! Next year there’s another one.

Also in November, we got the chance to go to LisboaCon 2010 – a boardgame convention. We tried out a new game (Red Dragon Inn), and met up with some old fellow geek friends from college. It was great seeing that there are more of us still interested in games, and geek stuff. Yay geeks! Before the year is over we’ll attend another (mini) event – as I’m writing this, I don’t know how it will be, and this may be published after we have been there. After I spoke to a friend, I decided not to take any games, so we try out new stuff, because that’s half the fun – learning new stuff.

This was also the year where I watched all of the (new) Doctor Who series. João likes it a lot, and I decided to give it a try when I was researching about DW for his birthday cake, and season 5’s Van Gogh episode really caught me – and eventually I too became a fan. After we watched (João rewarched – he’d seen everything) the whole thing, I suggested that João might actually like Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

See, I as described Doctor Who once, I said something like ‘I haven’t laughed *and* cried so much with a TV show since Buffy’, and I think in some senses those two TV series have a lot in common. So, I convinced him – who, when he had just caught the odd episode or another, said it was ‘a girl show’ and didn’t have much interest in it – to watch the whole thing. We’re at season 6, and he’s become a fan of the show a few seasons ago, just like I thought he would. I think most guys are put off by the Chosen One being a woman, thus automatically describing it as a ‘girl show’. I for one, think it’s a show for everyone who likes fantasy.

I also played some fantasy and sci-fi games this year: Dragon Age: Awakening, Mass Effect 2, StarCraft 2, and lately World of Warcraft: Cataclysm. The ‘addictiveness’ of WoW has worn off by now – I mean, we’ve been playing since the week the European servers opened, almost six years ago, so it was bound to happen eventually – but I’m still finding it very entertaining and fun. Still about video games, here’s a nifty list of game trailers that were out this year, courtesy of Kotaku.

That’s pretty much all I can think of for now, and it’s a lot, now that I read back. In case I don’t write here again before we’re in a new year, I hope you also had a great 2010, and that 2011 will be even better.

Leave a Reply

