2010 In Retrospect: Books

It’s that time of the year when I do the whole ‘year in retrospect’ series of posts. Looking back at some of the plans I had made for the year that’s now ending, I realize most of them have been accomplished.

Regarding books, I didn’t read all I had initially planned, but ended up reading other things that caught my interest, or that I ran into by chance instead of some of the planned books. For instance, I found Blink! by Malcolm Gladwell being sold at 3 or 4 pounds, in the area of the UK known as Avalon, of all places – I proceeded to start reading it when we were still in the UK.

I realize most years that what I plan to want to read, watch or play at the start of the year always partially changes as time passes by – it’s only natural that you’re introduced to new things, or stumble upon things you had been curious about for a while, that plans change. That, of course, doesn’t mean I won’t make plans for next year or the ones that will follow it. It’s always a fun experience to review one’s plans at the end of the year and see how they went.

So anyway, other than the three books indicated, I started the year finishing Madame Sadayakko, the story of the first japanese actress, which I had started reading last year.

I read Fevre Dream – a vampire story written in the 80s by George R. R. Martin, which takes place  in the age of the big steam ships which populated the Mississippi river. I really enjoyed this story, especially because with it being written by GRRM you really never know what will happen to the characters – a lot of you know he tends to kill them off even if they’re the main character. I think I read somewhere that GRRM might continue Fevre Dream. I hope he does.

The Warded Man by Peter V. Brett was also one of this year’s readings. A fantasy novel a bit different from what is usual, where humans live in fear of the demons that nightfall brings. We have the second novel, The Desert Spear, waiting to be read.

Read the classic Murder in the Orient Express, by Agatha Christie. I’d only read And Then There Were None by that author before and it had dazzled me with the unexpected ending. This had the same effect, even though I started wondering about a few things.

Finally read Boneshaker by Cherie Priest, a steampunk-meets-zombie apocalypse-meets sky pirates novel I had been extremely curious about for a while. I reccommend it.

I’m almost sure I read Haruki Murakami’s A Wild Sheep Chase this year, but I can’t find any photo or record that – maybe it was during 2009.

Also on my ‘read in 2010’ list are: Tales of the Otori vol. I and II (still in the middle of III), Darwinia, a steampunk novel of an alternative XX century, A Luz Miserável – a horror anthology by David Soares, Wild Cards vol I, Hunter’s Run, a tale on the Legends anthology (The Hedge Knight, by GRRM), Enzo, and I’m currently reading In the Dojo but  it’s doubtful I’ll finish it this year.

So, twelve books fully read this year, and a couple of partially read – It’s less than I’d like, but it’s one book a month, so it’s not so bad.

One thought on “2010 In Retrospect: Books

  1. Pingback: 2010 In Retrospect: The End « Corusca

Leave a Reply

