My Self-Birthday Present (at last!)

It’s been ages since my birthday, but I’ve finally ordered, and received, my self-birthday gifts, which are (surprise!) books.

I’ve been extremely curious about Boneshaker for ages now, and I finally got around to get it. It’s good timing that I’m almost done with Agatha Christie’s Murder on the Orient Express, because I can’t wait to read it.

The Fall is the continuation of Guillermo del Toro’s The Strain, a vampire/zombie horror book I read last year and really enjoyed (gave me the creeps at a couple of points). Buffy‘s season 8, volume 6 joins the other five volumes of this rather nicely done comic series.

Dune, well… I want to try reading it again sometime. Last time I tried was… about 8 years ago and I wasn’t in the right mood for it so I never finished. This time I hope it will be different.

Gift-aside, we also got a travel guide to Japan, in anticipation for next year’s trip, and also In the Dojo, a book recommended to us by our Iaido and Jodo sempai. This last one we had to ‘reorder’ since the original package arrived in poor condition. The Book Depository guys were very helpful and took care of this fast and with no extra cost to us – I just hope this time around, the book arrives well.

Leave a Reply

