Reading Spots In and Around Lisbon – Part I

If you’re not new here, you already know I enjoy reading. A lot.

Since I was a kid, books and comics have provided an escape from a sometimes harsh reality, they’ve been my travelling companions, and they’ve kept me company when I was alone.

Through them, I’ve crossed the galaxy beside Jedi and scoundrels, I’ve ran beside Tom and Huck on the shores of Mississipi, I’ve seen the birth of dragons and the death of knights, I’ve watched the Earth be shattered into a million pieces, I’ve been hugged by a tiger named Hobbes.

This will be the first of a series of posts where I talk about nice reading spots in Lisbon and its surrounding area.

Let’s begin with a place I found out about this weekend.

The Jardim Botânico da Ajuda (Ajuda’s Botanical Garden) is the oldest botanical garden in Portugal.

It’s a beautiful place, with lots of shade, and a wonderful view over the Tagus river on some sections of the garden. To enter you have to pay a small fee, which at the moment won’t go above 1.5 euros. The schedule varies depending on the time of the year, but you can check it out on the garden’s official site (in portuguese) at Menu > Informações > Horários.

The downside, is that the benches could be more confortable, since most (or all?) don’t have a back support, but between the flowers and trees all around, and the cultural part of the experience, I advise anyone to have a reading session there at least once.

Where exactly is it? Google maps provides.

Leave a Reply

