Fevre Dream – A Vampire Novel

I finished reading George R. R. Martin’s Fevre Dream on Friday. I’d been feeling like reading a vampire novel for a while now and I was not disappointed.

Without going into too much detail, so I don’t spoil you the fun, the novel’s vampires are a bit different than your regular vampire variety, without going into the sissy vampire crap-o-rama that’s been disseminated by Twilight and some other recent novels. Which suits me just fine.

The book’s events occur in or around the Mississippi River, in the USA, and the action goes on during the XIX century, thus depicting the age where steamboats strongly populated the river. I liked this setting, because my favourite Mark Twain stories share that stage.

Abner Marsh owns a steamboat company which has not had much luck in the last few years, and a mysterious man, called Joshua York makes him an offer he can’t refuse.

I enjoyed the character development in the novel, especially how the relationship between Joshua and Abner evolves throughout the book.

Looking for a good vampire story novel? I recommend Fevre Dream without any reserves.

6 thoughts on “Fevre Dream – A Vampire Novel

  1. I have the third book of Robin Hobb’s Farseer Trilogy to read yet, but I’ve put it in place after that. Should be a week or two before I get it done. I’ll try and remember to come back and give you my thoughts after I’ve read it. I’m such a huge fan of Martin, I can’t imagine it being bad though πŸ˜€

    Did you ever watch HBO’s True Blood? I finished season two a few weeks ago, is pretty amusing. I’m really not a huge fan of vampires. Especially the Twilight kind, and that really seems to be all you see these days.

    Also have you noticed the plethora of “vampire” novels out in the past couple years? I swear there is an entire section devoted to them at our local Chapters (book store here in Canada). Most of them look horrible (romance novels with “fangs”…)

    Anyway, I’m babbling…

  2. I’m not really a fan of most of the new ‘vampires’ (using the term loosely here) we see nowadays.

    I’m a fan of vampires:
    . who drink blood
    . who have to struggle with their violent nature – who doesn’t love Louis’ attempt to live from rat’s blood only to find himself giving in to human blood later on, in Interview With A Vampire?
    . who can’t go out in daylight – I can accept a daylight walk if they are severely impaired by doing so, for instance, but not walking happily around as if it’s nothing (or shining, which I never really understood), or in case they are Bram Stoker’s Dracula (but it’s frakking Dracula :P), walk in daylight but be weakened

    We have couple of horrible new TV shows about vampires, here in our national channels, one of them depicting a female vampire who has a ‘genetic mutation’ that allows her to walk in daylight.

    What. The. Hell? Genetics? Really? It’s like the Midi-chlorians thing all over again. Heh. πŸ˜‰

  3. Ok, I think you might dig true blood then if you haven’t seen it. I warn you, its HBO, so there is a LOT of nudity & sex (which to me is just a bonus!).

    Yeah, vampires shouldn’t sparkle. Ever. Unless they are vampires in a Hair metal band… then its excusable.

  4. I’ve watched the first 8 episodes of True Blood. It’s pretty cool, but since we’ve had other shows to watch (Fringe, Bones, House, Flashforward), we’ve ‘paused’ our viewing of the show.

    The author of the books it’s based on, Charlaine Harris, is coming to Portugal somewhere between the end of February and the beginning of March. I’ll see if I can get the 1st novel autographed. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

