A Storm of Swords

I stayed home today, to avoid cold and in an attempt to get better from a one-week long cold. What better time to read, covered in a blanket, with a heater nearby?

Turns out that I finished reading ‘A Storm of Sword’ at long last. The book I enjoyed so much and took longest to finish reading, due to a multitude of ‘real life’ factors. I ended up asking someone for their copy of the translated version of it and finished my reading in that version, despite owning the English-written paperback. Now that it’s over, I can say it’s the best one so far, beating ‘A Game of Thrones’, and ‘A Clash of Kings’, both being very good books also.

I’ve enjoyed it so much that I’m calling it ‘The Empire Strikes Back’ of The Song of Ice and Fire.There’s so much that happens in this book (some good, but a lot of bad), that TESB immediately comes to mind. I was not expecting several things, especially the end. I find myself wondering how everyone’s stories will go on, now that so many things changed.

Although ‘A Feast For Crows’ is sitting comfortably in one of our bookshelves, waiting to be read, I’ll resist reading it for now. I’ll wait a while longer, maybe until ‘A Dance With Dragons’ is finally out, if that doesn’t take much longer (right…).For now I’ll enjoy the rest of ‘Madame Sadayakko’, and start reading something also written by George R. R. Martin – ‘Fevre Dream’.

I’ve been wanting to read something with vampires – proper ones, who drink blood instead of acting emo and shining in daylight. ‘Fevre Dream”s plot goes on in a setting I have not visited through my readings in a good while – the Mississippi river, with its steamboats. I’m a big fan of Mark Twain’s work, especially ‘The Adventures of Tom Sawyer’, and hope to enjoy Fevre Dream’s familiar setting.

Leave a Reply

