PlayStation 3 Slim Is Here

So, yes, big surprise. Sony has announced the new, smaller PS3 model – the PlayStation 3 Slim.

Not much to say, other than it’s arriving on September 1st, and that it will be 299 euros (299 US dolars), will have a 120GB capacity.

Also, according to Gizmodo, the new model will not allow the installation of other operating systems. So that means no Linux on the new consoles, folks.

Thankfully, we have the older model ofย  the PS3 and won’t have that problem. Plus, despite being bigger, it’s prettier than the new model which isn’t glossy anymore.

We’ve been thinking of using our PlayStation 3 as a media server, in order to substitute the horrible-looking PC we have in our living room serving as a media center. Not only would it be a big aesthetic upgrade, but it would allow us to watch HD movies, which our current media center can’t handle.

The good news is, and you have probably already noticed this, the old PS3 model is now priced at 299 euros (299 US dolars) as well, so you can pick which one you want without extra charge.

4 thoughts on “PlayStation 3 Slim Is Here

  1. Unfortunately, you can’t (officially) run Linux on the Slim like yo could the old PS3. Running Linux in dual boot you could at least try and run Myth or Boxee for media.

    If you are looking for a cheap media center (and you keep all your media on another server) you should check out the Ion based net-tops. they are small and many can attach to the back of an HDTV via the vesa mount points. Ass an USB IR port, and throw Windows 7 MC or Boxee on it and you’d have an excellent low-power-consumption, 1080p capable Media Center that is small and hidden.

    I think you can get a cheap Ion based net top for about $349 USD. Of course, it won’t run PS3 games ๐Ÿ˜‰ But really, there aren’t that many good PS3 games anyway, I’ve been rather disappointed with my PS3. Anything really good that has come out for it has come out for my 360 with exclusives. Well, except Ratchet and Clank & Singstar ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Ah, but we have an old PS3 (the 80GB model) which we got as wedding gift. ๐Ÿ™‚ We’re going to turn it into our media center (just realized I wrote ‘media server’ on the post) and we’ll use one of our PCs as a media server. The only problem we will probably have is that, since the PCs are in the office, playing HD stuff through our home wireless network will screw it up. I guess we’ll just have to use a laptop temporarily connected via a RJ45 cable to the PS3, whenever we want to play an HD movie or something… :

    It’s too bad they left out the Linux capability from the new model. I guess they just wanted to cut costs… Ah well. As long as Sony keeps supporting Yellow Dog Linux so the people that have the older models don’t have issues, all’s fine. ๐Ÿ˜›

    About PS3’s games. Yeah, we hadn’t gotten a PS3 because most of the games we were interested in came out for other consoles, which we already owned. A couple of titles caught my eye, like MGS4, LBP and Uncharted. Never tried Ratchet & Clank, but felt very tempted when I found one of the titles on sale for 15 euros. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Oh, Ratchet & Clank is soo worth it, I don’t even like platformer-type games that much, and I’ve played it through probably 3-4 times now. Its probably the collecting/upgrading pieces mixed with an amusing story and good characters. I’m a sucker for collecting in games ๐Ÿ˜›

    Yeah LBP was pretty good, I’m looking forward to the water upgrade that is coming. I’m also really interested in Dust 514, I play EVE here & there, and it looks like a cool game if they can actually pull it off. Oh, and FF14 looks yummy too ๐Ÿ˜€

    My PS3 connection is wired. I have the PS3, Xbox360, Wii & my media center all in the rec-room, so it only made sense to have them wired up to a gigabit switch and that runs to the firewall & Home Server (WHS is awesome).

    I find my wireless setup intolerable for large transfers. It is Wireless-N, but whenever we download images from our DSLR to the office machine, it synchs with the home server wirelessly (via an access point) and it almost always crashes the access point if the batch is more than 200-300mb. We are renting, if we owned, I’d just run a Cat-5/6 cable to the office, but it isn’t worth the cost in a rental.

    Er.. I’m off-topic ๐Ÿ˜

  4. I’ve never gotten into EVE, although my husband plays it from time to time, but I’ve read about Dust 514 and the concept might turn EVE into something a bit more interesting for me.

    I’ve been keeping a (distant) eye on the Jumpgate Evolution announcements. It might come out interesting, although I’m skeptical that they will be able to make the real-time dogfights work out. Latency is usually an enemy of twitch-based combat systems.

    I guess I’ll have to wait and see. ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

