Entertain Me, 2009! – Part II

I already talked about what 2009 movies I’m excited about, but haven’t mentioned what cool video games I have to look forward to in 2009. By the way, some of the titles I will mention have a chance to be postponed to next year, but since they were mentioned as probably 2009 releases, I’m listing them here.

Let’s see.

Star Wars: The Old Republic (PC) – A MMORPG based on Star Wars and made by BioWare. Sounds like a potential dream come true since I am both a Star Wars fan and I loved every BioWare game I’ve played. Plus, it’s a roleplaying game – my favourite genre. Of course, I’m trying not to get too hyped about it so it doesn’t end up being a disappointment. In fact I just recalled the rumours about it being micro transaction based, and am going to add if that’s true, it will make the game a disappointment even before I start playing it. I’m not a fan of RMT, and not even it being a Star Wars and BioWare game will make me happy about this enough to buy the game.

Diablo 3 (PC) – Not sure this will actually be released this year. Liked both Diablos and the art, screenshots, etc all look good. Plus, it’s an action RPG, which is something I’ve been craving for a while now.

StarCraft 2 (PC) – Another huge doubt, but I’m hoping at least the first part (of three) is released this year. This, along with Dawn of War II will be the two RTS games I’ll want to try in 2009. Meantime I have to stick to looking at cool Kerrigan, The Queen of Blades wallpapers and the sort. I’ll live.

Dragon Age: Origins (PC) – BioWare-made medieval RPG. I liked all the screenshots, videos and other media they’ve placed at the official website. Looks like a darker version of their medieval titles, and I for one hope it’s a good change.

The Sims 3 (PC) – I liked both previous Sims games and this has even more features. I am not sure I will play it for too long, but I am undoubtedly curious enough to want to try it out.

Mass Effect 2 (Xbox 360) – This is so not being released this year, but a girl can dream. It’s BioWare, it’s an RPG, it’s science fiction, and it’s the sequel to one of the best games I’ve ever played. It simply cannot go wrong. Must play! Of course I’d be happier if BioWare had actually made a site for ME2 already, but it’s not even listed in their in-development list.

Gardening Mama (DS) – As my regular readers already know, I’m a Cooking Mama fan. A gardening Mama game is a must play for me.

Also interested in these, although not really hyped about them:

Tekken 6 – I like playing beat ’em ups and the Tekken titles are the ones I’ve played the most. Although I never get that excited about new beat ’em ups (what are they really improving except of the graphics?), I might give it a try. Somehow, since I’m not going to buy the thing.

Ghostbusters – Who you gonna call? Ghostbusters! I’m more interested in the new movie, but the game’s worth mentioning. Why they didn’t hire Sigourney Weaver as a voice actress eludes me though.

And once more I ask you what you‘re looking forward this year, only this time video games-wise.

3 thoughts on “Entertain Me, 2009! – Part II

  1. Now we’re talking!
    Warhammer 40k: dawn of war 2: 1 was just great along with its expansion packs, can’t wait for 2. also Velvet Assassin (Splinter Cell in WW2? Sign me in!).
    And that’s about it… honestly it is. there are a good number of games that I’m waiting for but they are sequels that have a high chance of being a bust:
    Mafia 2 – Mafia 1 was the quintessential mafia game with a superb script that borrowed scenes from all the big mafia movies (Godfather, Goodfellas…) in a fantastic 3D reproduction of a 30s Chicago look-a-like, recreating the environment of the era like no one did before and, best of all, came from an unknown czech studio that no one cared about (hurray for the underdog!).
    Godfather 2 – Sequel to get some money out of Puzo’s & Coppola’s work. being a The Godfather fanatic is more out of curiosity to see what EA makes out of this cash-cow.
    Empire Total War – they seemed to set Portugal aside (again) and give more relevance to the american independence war just to please that market while keeping the brits happy with the campaign in India. Think I’ll stick to the Britannia pack for Medieval Total War until they make an expansion pack with the Portuguese.
    Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor – A top quality original game, a superb XPack (Opposing Fronts) what could go wrong? Well, taking a couple of mini single player missions and a couple of new vehicles that were suppose to be DLCs for the community and labeling then as a new expansion for 30$… not good.
    Assassin’s Creed 2 – probably only coming out in 2010 but I really liked the first one despite heavy criticism (due to overhyping of the game by Ubisoft), but while I was really psyched about the initial reports of the nº2 being in medieval Japan, they are now saying that there’s a bigger chance of it being in during the French revolution. bah! leave that for 3 I say and give us some ninjas!

    Anyway what I’ve always loved about the PC and overall gaming industry is that it seems that best and games seem to come from new and unknown studios that make a game out of a real passion for it and take care of all the little details making it not just a game to make money but a true and complete work of art. Here’s to hopefully many surprises in 09!

  2. Pingback: Corusca » Dragon Age: Yeah yeah yeah

Leave a Reply

