Hallowe’en Party

“It could be witches Some evil witches.

Which is ridiculous ‘Cause witches they were persecuted

Wicca good, and love the Earth

And woman power And I’ll be over here.” – Xander in the Buffy musical episode

Hallowe’en is here. The night where demons, witches, vampires and zombies come out to play. In the recent celebrations that is. This day actually has a very ancient and different origin. It was originally a Celtic festival, the Samhain, which was a celebration of the end of the harvest season, and it’s sometimes called the Celtic New Year.

Instead of doing a rewrite of wikipedia’s entry I’ll leave you with a quote on Hallowe’en.

Traditionally, the festival was a time used by the ancient Celtic pagans to take stock of supplies and slaughter livestock for winter stores. The ancient Gaels believed that on October 31, now known as Halloween, the boundary between the alive and the deceased dissolved, and the dead become dangerous for the living by causing problems such as sickness or damaged crops. The festivals would frequently involve bonfires, into which bones of slaughtered livestock were thrown. Costumes and masks were also worn at the festivals in an attempt to mimic the evil spirits or placate them.

It’s true that it’s being a comercial holliday more than anything else lately, but I enjoy the spirit of the thing a lot more than the Carnival event we have here in Portugal. I prefer the fantasy/horror theme of Hallowe’en, and love the pumpkins and other decorations typical of this time of the year. Plus, no carts filled with silly Portuguese semi-naked women in the Winter in an attempt to imitate Brasil’s Carnival. Hello? Brasilian chicks are almost naked in the Carnival in Brasil because it’s friggin Summer there. Winter here. Got it? Thanks!

Tonight I’m going to (well, co-throwing) a Hallowe’en party. I might be the only one wearing a mask, but I’m hoping I’m not alone in this. The mask I got was not the one I wanted but it will have to do. I would prefer playing a witch but the old-looking broom or a cool-looking staff was nowhere to be found.

We’ve bought candy, we’re taking some hallowe’eny decoration, although not much as we never celebrated the event in a party, and my friend Alma has even been baking us some evil cookies and cupcakes, and other friends are taking a home-made dessert. Yesterday after work I went shopping to the nearby mall with my fiancée and we bought most of the munchies and drinks for the party. I’m hoping we didn’t exaggerate much with the quantities we bought but better get more than not enough I guess. 😛

Small detail: between all the running around and shopping I haven’t had time to spare with packing, so I will only do that tonight. No biggie, I only need a change of clothes. 😛 I hope next year I have the time to make some Hallowe’en-themed cookies and cupcakes also. :]

It will be a night of games, movies, music, eating, and most of all, of chatting and socializing. It will be fun!

2 thoughts on “Hallowe’en Party

  1. True about the stupidity of the import of Brazilian aspects of Carnival, but the festivities went from Portugal to Brazil and well it has traditions in Portugal, like the Caretos de Podence (which btw is also of Celtic ancestry).
    Halloween in Portugal is a fad, a thing that kids saw on TV or at the movies and want to go around and ask for candy, doing it in the american style that’s a very adultered version of scottish/irish original festivities. I would rather like if we adopted the mexican Dia de los Muertos festivities (also is more connected to our holiday of November 1) but I must say I do enjoy adult Halloween parties :p my beef is with this commercial crap that the industry try to impose on kids nowadays.

  2. Yeah. When I was looking for my costume, I wasn’t the only one and I saw some pre-made costumes being sold for 50 euros and such. In fact, I didn’t buy dark angel wings for my devil costume because they were overpriced.

    This of couse also goes toward my idea about costumes, that the fun part is to assemble them. I don’t mean we have to make them from scratch, but a combo between pre-bought stuff and self-made stuff makes the whole costume-wearing a lot more fun. In my mind at least.

Leave a Reply

