Planning my Next Literary Purchases

Since I don’t think that my ever growing pile of unread books, comics and manga is large enough, I’m already planning my next online purchases. I’m starting to think I’m an addict.

So far the list of shiny new stuff goes like this:

  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Long Way Home – Buffy season 8. I’ve been reading the monthly issues and liking them. I already have the complete TV series on DVD, so this will just make the ‘collection’ complete with something well written (by Joss Whedon himself and a few other writers that I dig, like Brian K. Vaughan) and entertaining.
  • The Dark Mirror by Juliet Marillier – recommended by a friend. Will start reading it after I finish the George R. R. Martin novel I’m reading (which might actually take a while, hm…)
  • Chunchu vol 1 to 3 – This korean manga has caught my eye a while ago. I’m not sure if the story is good, but the art and character design are. This I’m still wondering if it’s worth buying. I still have the rest of the Death Note issues to read and Claymore #1 and #2.

Any suggestions for nice readings, be it books, comics or anything else?

Anyone has anything they’d like to suggest, reading-wise?

2 thoughts on “Planning my Next Literary Purchases

  1. Lately I’ve been reading classics… I guess I’ve found out why after decades and sometimes centuries after being written they’re still bestsellers.
    One of those that became my favorite is Fyodor (sp?) Dostoevsky’s Crime and Punishment. give it a try, you can find it at a FNAC store very cheap (3€).
    Sci-Fi wise, I just read the follow up to Episode III, Rise of the Dark Lord, which is pretty good since you get to see how Skywalker/Vader adjusts to life in the suit and how he fully embraces the dark side, though I would have loved to see more of Yoda and Obi-Wan going AWOL instead of the same old story of some unknown padawans going into hiding and having to come to terms with their master’s death and yaddayaddayadda…

  2. Been curious about Dostoevsky for a while now.

    A while back I had my mind set on reading some classics also, I bought some like ‘The Three Musketeers’ by Alexandre Dumas, ‘Moby Dick’, some Virginia Woolf novels and other stuff but I still haven’t read all of those. 😛

    I’ll have to do a list of all the unread stuff I have so I make a ‘reading plan’ of sorts so the mountain of books starts going lower instead of up.

Leave a Reply

